Meet-me-room


A “meet me room” (MMR) is a place within a colocation centre (or carrier hotel) where telecommunications companies can physically connect to one another and exchange data without incurring local loop fees. Services provided across connections in an MMR may be voice circuits, data circuits, or Internet protocol.

To interconnect, companies order a patch from their cage or suite to the MMR, and then arrange for the organization running the facility to connect them together. These physical connections may be fibre, coax, twisted pair, or any other networking medium.

Typically, a meet me room will discourage or disallow customers from installing large amounts of equipment. However, multiplexing equipment is often welcome in the meet me room, so that a customer can have a single connection between the meet me room and the rest of their equipment in the building, and the multiplexing equipment can then break that out to allow for direct, private connections to several other organizations present in the meet me room.

one-wilshire-meet-me-room

One thought on “Meet-me-room

  1. Pingback: Point of presence (POP) « Brain Knowledge

Leave a Reply

